The Bellefonte Art Museum for Centre County showcases the work of artists from Centre County and around the world. It also hosts regular art classes and talks.
The museum is in the Linn House, which was built in 1810 by Philip Benner and is in the Bellefonte National Register of Historic Places District. During its history, the three-story, Georgian-style residence was the home of prominent families, including three of the five Pennsylvania governors that came from Bellefonte.
During the 20th century, several businesses operated in the house. However, by 1997 it had fallen into disrepair and was donated to the borough of Bellefonte. With the financial support of individuals and businesses, extensive renovations were undertaken and the museum opened in 2008.
The Special Exhibitions Gallery features art from cultures and places around the world. Other galleries showcase the work of different local artists each month. A permanent exhibit on the third floor commemorates the role of the Linn House and the region in the Underground Railroad in the years before the Civil War.
The 24/7 Display Window is a glass-enclosed all-seasons porch that features art and objects that can be seen any day and any time. The Children’s Creativity Center offers free monthly art classes for students.
The museum’s artist registry promotes and exhibits art by more than 150 local artists. The Twiga Museum Store features fine arts and hand-crafted items from registry artists and artists outside the county.
The museum is open Friday, Saturday, and Sunday from 12-4:30 p.m.
Bellefonte Art Museum for Centre County. www.bellefontemuseum.org (Accessed June 10, 2021).
First Published: August 25, 2021
Last Modified: April 3, 2023